The Station: Info and History

The New Classical 96.3 FM is part of ZoomerMedia Limited.

Picture of Moses Znaimer

Dan Hamilton
Vice-President Broadcast Sales and General Manager, Radio
ZoomerMedia
d.hamilton@mzmedia.com

John van Driel
Vice-President, Radio Programming & Operations
ZoomerMedia
jvd@mzmedia.com

Michael Tiernay 
VP Radio Sales
ZoomerMedia
m.tiernay@mzmedia.com

Libby Znaimer
Vice-President, News & Information
ZoomerMedia
libby@zoomer.ca

Leanne Wright
Vice-President, Communications
ZoomerMedia
leanne@zoomer.ca

Christopher Randall
Vice-President, Promotions
ZoomerMedia
christopher@mzmedia.com

Michael Lyons
Music Director
ZoomerMedia
M.Lyons@mzmedia.com


CLASSICAL 96.3 FM: THE STORY SO FAR

Classical 96.3fm, home of Toronto’s Classical Favourites, started its life more than a quarter of a century ago as a humble classical music station in beautiful Cobourg Ontario (still broadcasting as Classical 103.1 fm).

  • We are English Canada’s only all classical music radio stations.
  • We are Mozart & Movie Music. Bach & Bernstein. Opera & Crossover.
  • We are a new attitude for one of the oldest art forms in Western Civilization.
  • Programmed by John van Driel – popularizes classical music to make it more accessible to the public at large.

We offer listeners the greatest music of all time plus up-to-the minute news, weather, traffic, ZoomerReports and arts reports. All this, plus uniquely intimate and interactive “Live From the Concert Lobby” performances which have featured such luminaries as piano virtuosi Lang Lang and Yundi; opera stars Ben Heppner and Measha Brueggergosman; popular crossovers singers such as Katharine Jenkins and Josh Groban; and super groups like The Tenors, Il Volo and the Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra.

CLASSICAL 96.3 FM IS TORONTO’S ONLY COMMERCIAL RADIO STATION PLAYING ALL CLASSICAL MUSIC.